Moving Across Thresholds: Foregrounding the background

Workshop by Renae Shadler in the frame of „SENSE – Geographies of Perception“

Workshop

Moving Across Thresholds, Judith Förster

© Moving Across Thresholds, Judith Förster

Free registration Free registration Free registration Free registration

Ticket Prices

Free admission.
The number of participants is limited, please register.

The programme of the workshops is different on all four dates, you are welcome to participate in all four workshops.

The workshops are partly barrier-free.
We ask people who are dependent on a wheelchair or a walking aid to contact us in advance by phone or email.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

 

Ticket Prices

Free admission.
The number of participants is limited, please register.

The programme of the workshops is different on all four dates, you are welcome to participate in all four workshops.

The workshops are partly barrier-free.
We ask people who are dependent on a wheelchair or a walking aid to contact us in advance by phone or email.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Ticket Prices

Free admission.
The number of participants is limited, please register.

The programme of the workshops is different on all four dates, you are welcome to participate in all four workshops.

The workshops are partly barrier-free.
We ask people who are dependent on a wheelchair or a walking aid to contact us in advance by phone or email.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Ticket Prices

Free admission.
The number of participants is limited, please register.

The programme of the workshops is different on all four dates, you are welcome to participate in all four workshops.

The workshops are partly barrier-free.
We ask people who are dependent on a wheelchair or a walking aid to contact us in advance by phone or email.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

The invisible thresholds of power are to be found in “Moving Across Thresholds” (MaT), an ongoing workshop format: choreographer Renae Shadler explores how the perceived limits or edges within experience – whether physical, structural or otherwise – can be approached as thresholds of potential that invite us to think and move in different ways. Conceived as an experimental space, participants explore with full physical commitment how limits can become thresholds to thought and action through broad engagement and active co-creation with diverse bodies in everyday life. The tried and tested format combines movement, philosophy and activism in a two-day intensive workshop as part of the “SENSE” series, through which Radialsystem explores power relations within a geography of perception.

The workshop at Radialsystem deals specifically with the topic of “Foregrounding the background”; that is, with the invisible thresholds that mark power and privilege in the relationship between foreground and background. What is highlighted and what is pushed into the background is not accidental, but the result of historical processes, dominant pedagogical practices as well as systematic relations of power and oppression. With international artists and researchers based in Berlin, São Paulo and Dar es salaam/Tanzania, the workshop reverses this relationship: what happens when the background comes to life and makes its presence felt? What if the landscape becomes a part of us, just as we are a part of it? What if we centre the periphery?

 

Cast

Concept, Curation, Facilitation
Renae Shadler

Guest Facilitators
Isack Abeneko
Giovana de Souza Possignolo

Festival Companion
Judith Förster

Communications
Flupsi

Documentation
Stella Horta

Production
Sofia Fantuzzi

Biographien

Renae Shadler is a Berlin-based choreographer, performer and researcher. As founder of "Renae Shadler & Collaborators", a project-based collective that develops performances with touring artists and non-professional participants, she has created works for theaters, train stations and city squares. Her choreographic practice "Worlding" (since 2015) explores how we shape and are shaped by our environment, and manifests in her creations and the "Worlding" podcast series.
www.renaeshadler.com

Isack Abeneko is the founder and creative director of ASEDEVA (Art for Social and Economic Development in Africa), a Tanzanian based non profit arts organization. He performs as a dancer, actor and musician while increasingly working off stage as a choreographer, song writer, and curator of the annual ‘Marafiki Music Festival’ and ‘Haba na Haba International Dance Festival’. Isack is motivated by the power of performance art to express and question cultural diversity and postcolonial politics.
http://www.asedeva.com/ 

Giovana de Souza Possignolo is a Brazilian doctoral student in Sociology at Justus Liebig University Giessen and a graduate fellow at the International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC), Germany. In her research, she departs from border, feminist and anti-racist epistemologies to feel-think with peripheral women from the edges of São Paulo city (Brazil) through lived embodied experiences.

Judith Förster is a choreographer, dancer, stage and costume designer living in Berlin. Her work is situated between visual art and dance. She combines the performative with the somatic and works experientially with bodies and their political, sensual and visual dimensions. The interaction of body and material is at the center of her research. In collaboration with various choreographers, visual artists and dancers, she continuously gives new forms to the interaction of bodies and materials in her work.
www.judithfoerster.de

Language

English

SENSE – Geographies of Perception

In the programme series "SENSE", Radialsystem explores power relations within a geography of perception. Employing the perspectives of choreography, visual arts, music and workshop formats, "SENSE" investigates an embodied practice of sensory perception in four programme foci until summer 2022. The programme series likewise addresses the question of how the trauma of a pandemic has affected and continues to affect our senses. The double meaning contained in the title of the series – “sense” denotes both sensation and sentiment – invokes and challenges the distinction between thinking and feeling – or theory and practice – common in the Western Enlightenment tradition of knowledge.

Credits

Presented by Renae Shadler & Collaborators. Supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, sponsored by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media within the framework of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR, Aid Program Dance. 2020/21 activities with additional support from Marten Bequest Theater Fellowship (Perpetual Trust, Australia).

"SENSE" is a series of Radialsystem, funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe. Supported by the Radial Foundation.

Media partners: taz. die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, ExBerliner and Ask Helmut.

The invisible thresholds of power are to be found in “Moving Across Thresholds” (MaT), an ongoing workshop format: choreographer Renae Shadler explores how the perceived limits or edges within experience – whether physical, structural or otherwise – can be approached as thresholds of potential that invite us to think and move in different ways. Conceived as an experimental space, participants explore with full physical commitment how limits can become thresholds to thought and action through broad engagement and active co-creation with diverse bodies in everyday life. The tried and tested format combines movement, philosophy and activism in a two-day intensive workshop as part of the “SENSE” series, through which Radialsystem explores power relations within a geography of perception.

The workshop at Radialsystem deals specifically with the topic of “Foregrounding the background”; that is, with the invisible thresholds that mark power and privilege in the relationship between foreground and background. What is highlighted and what is pushed into the background is not accidental, but the result of historical processes, dominant pedagogical practices as well as systematic relations of power and oppression. With international artists and researchers based in Berlin, São Paulo and Dar es salaam/Tanzania, the workshop reverses this relationship: what happens when the background comes to life and makes its presence felt? What if the landscape becomes a part of us, just as we are a part of it? What if we centre the periphery?

 

Cast

Concept, Curation, Facilitation
Renae Shadler

Guest Facilitators
Isack Abeneko
Giovana de Souza Possignolo

Festival Companion
Judith Förster

Communications
Flupsi

Documentation
Stella Horta

Production
Sofia Fantuzzi

Biographies

Renae Shadler is a Berlin-based choreographer, performer and researcher. As founder of "Renae Shadler & Collaborators", a project-based collective that develops performances with touring artists and non-professional participants, she has created works for theaters, train stations and city squares. Her choreographic practice "Worlding" (since 2015) explores how we shape and are shaped by our environment, and manifests in her creations and the "Worlding" podcast series.
www.renaeshadler.com

Isack Abeneko is the founder and creative director of ASEDEVA (Art for Social and Economic Development in Africa), a Tanzanian based non profit arts organization. He performs as a dancer, actor and musician while increasingly working off stage as a choreographer, song writer, and curator of the annual ‘Marafiki Music Festival’ and ‘Haba na Haba International Dance Festival’. Isack is motivated by the power of performance art to express and question cultural diversity and postcolonial politics.
http://www.asedeva.com/ 

Giovana de Souza Possignolo is a Brazilian doctoral student in Sociology at Justus Liebig University Giessen and a graduate fellow at the International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC), Germany. In her research, she departs from border, feminist and anti-racist epistemologies to feel-think with peripheral women from the edges of São Paulo city (Brazil) through lived embodied experiences.

Judith Förster is a choreographer, dancer, stage and costume designer living in Berlin. Her work is situated between visual art and dance. She combines the performative with the somatic and works experientially with bodies and their political, sensual and visual dimensions. The interaction of body and material is at the center of her research. In collaboration with various choreographers, visual artists and dancers, she continuously gives new forms to the interaction of bodies and materials in her work.
www.judithfoerster.de

Use of Cookies
Radialsystem does not store any personal data of website visitors. Details in ourprivacy policy.

Moving Across Thresholds: Foregrounding the background

Workshop von Renae Shadler im Rahmen von „SENSE – Geografien der Wahrnehmung“

Workshop

Moving Across Thresholds, Judith Förster

© Moving Across Thresholds, Judith Förster

Kostenlose Anmeldung Kostenlose Anmeldung Kostenlose Anmeldung Kostenlose Anmeldung

Ticketpreise

Eintritt frei.
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist begrenzt, wir bitten um Anmeldung.

Das Programm der Workshops ist an allen vier Terminen unterschiedlich, Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, an mehreren Workshops teilzunehmen.

Die Workshops sind teilweise barrierefrei.
Wir bitten Menschen, die auf einen Rollstuhl oder eine Gehhilfe angewiesen sind, sich bei uns im Voraus telefonisch oder per E-Mail zu melden.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Ticketpreise

Eintritt frei.
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist begrenzt, wir bitten um Anmeldung.

Das Programm der Workshops ist an allen vier Terminen unterschiedlich, Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, an mehreren Workshops teilzunehmen.

Die Workshops sind teilweise barrierefrei.
Wir bitten Menschen, die auf einen Rollstuhl oder eine Gehhilfe angewiesen sind, sich bei uns im Voraus telefonisch oder per E-Mail zu melden.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Ticketpreise

Eintritt frei.
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist begrenzt, wir bitten um Anmeldung.

Das Programm der Workshops ist an allen vier Terminen unterschiedlich, Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, an mehreren Workshops teilzunehmen.

Die Workshops sind teilweise barrierefrei.
Wir bitten Menschen, die auf einen Rollstuhl oder eine Gehhilfe angewiesen sind, sich bei uns im Voraus telefonisch oder per E-Mail zu melden.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Ticketpreise

Eintritt frei.
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist begrenzt, wir bitten um Anmeldung.

Das Programm der Workshops ist an allen vier Terminen unterschiedlich, Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, an mehreren Workshops teilzunehmen.

Die Workshops sind teilweise barrierefrei.
Wir bitten Menschen, die auf einen Rollstuhl oder eine Gehhilfe angewiesen sind, sich bei uns im Voraus telefonisch oder per E-Mail zu melden.
+49 (0)30 288 788 588
ticket@radialsystem.de

Unsichtbare Schwellen der Macht: „Moving Across Thresholds“ (MAT) ist ein fortlaufendes Workshopformat der Choreografin Renae Shadler. Der Workshop beschäftigt sich mit der Wahrnehmung von strukturellen, physikalischen oder anderen Grenzen in der alltäglichen Erfahrung und interpretiert sie als Schwellen, die zu einem anderen Denken und Handeln einladen. Der Workshop ist als Experimentierraum konzipiert: Die Teilnehmer*innen erkunden mit vollem Körpereinsatz, wie aus Einschränkungen neue Möglichkeiten sich zu bewegen und zu denken entstehen – und zwar durch eine breitere Beteiligung und Partizipation diverser Körper im Alltag. Das bereits vielfach erprobte Format kombiniert Bewegung, Philosophie und Aktivismus. Mitte April finden über zwei Tage verteilt vier Intensiv-Workshops im Rahmen der Reihe „SENSE“ statt, mit der das Radialsystem Machtverhältnisse innerhalb einer Geografie der Wahrnehmung erkundet.

Die vier Workshops im Radialsystem beschäftigt sich speziell mit dem Thema „Foregrounding the background“, also mit den unsichtbaren Barrieren, die Macht und Privilegien in der Beziehung zwischen Vorder- und Hintergrund markieren: Was hervorgehoben und was in den Hintergrund gedrängt wird, ist nicht zufällig, sondern das Ergebnis historischer Prozesse, dominierender pädagogischer Praktiken sowie systematischer Macht- und Unterdrückungsverhältnisse. Gemeinsam mit internationalen Künstlerinnen und Forscherinnen aus Berlin, São Paulo und Dar es salaam/ Tansania kehrt der Workshop dieses Verhältnis um: Was passiert, wenn der Hintergrund lebendig wird und seine Präsenz spürbar macht? Was wäre, wenn die Landschaft ein Teil von uns wird, so wie wir ein Teil von ihr sind? Was, wenn wir die Peripherie in den Mittelpunkt rücken?

 

Cast

Konzept, Kuration und Moderation
Renae Shadler

Gastmoderator*innen
Isack Abeneko
Giovana de Souza Possignolo

Festivalbegleitung
Judith Förster

Kommunikation
Flupsi

Dokumentation
Stella Horta

Produktion
Sofia Fantuzzi

Biographien

Renae Shadler ist eine in Berlin lebende Choreografin, Performerin und Forscherin. Als Gründerin von „Renae Shadler & Collaborators“, einem projektbasierten Kollektiv, das Performances mit tourenden Künstler*innen und nicht-professionellen Teilnehmenden entwickelt, hat sie Arbeiten für Theater, Bahnhöfe und Stadtplätze geschaffen. Ihre choreografische Praxis „Worlding“ (seit 2015) untersucht, wie wir unsere Umgebung formen und von ihr geformt werden, und manifestiert sich in ihren Kreationen und der „Worlding“-Podcast-Serie.
www.renaeshadler.com

Isack Abeneko ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter von ASEDEVA (Art for Social and Economic Development in Africa), einer in Tansania ansässigen gemeinnützigen Kulturinstitution. Er tritt als Tänzer, Schauspieler und Musiker auf, sowie jenseits der Bühne zunehmend als Choreograf und Songschreiber. Außerdem ist er Kurator des jährlichen „Marafiki Music Festival“ und des „Haba na Haba International Dance Festival“. Sein Interesse ist, mit Performance-Kunst kulturelle Vielfalt und postkoloniale Politik zu vermitteln und zu hinterfragen.
www.asedeva.com

Giovana de Souza Possignolo ist eine brasilianische Doktorandin der Soziologie an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen und Stipendiatin des International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC), Deutschland. In ihrer Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit Grenzen sowie feministischer und antirassistischer Erkenntnistheorie und ‚erfühlt-forscht‘ mit Frauen aus den Randgebieten der Stadt São Paulo (Brasilien) deren gelebte, verkörperte Erfahrungen.

Judith Förster ist Choreografin, Tänzerin, Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin und lebt in Berlin. Ihre Arbeit ist zwischen bildender Kunst und Tanz angesiedelt. Sie verbindet das Performative mit dem Somatischen und arbeitet erfahrungsorientiert mit Körpern und ihren politischen, sinnlichen und visuellen Dimensionen. Die Interaktion von Körper und Material steht im Zentrum ihrer Forschung. In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Choreograf*innen, bildenden Künstler*innen und Tänzer*innen verleiht sie der Interaktion von Körpern und Materialien in ihrer Arbeit kontinuierlich neue Formen.
www.judithfoerster.de

Sprache

Englisch

SENSE – Geografien der Wahrnehmung

Mit der Programmreihe „SENSE“ erkundet das Radialsystem Machtverhältnisse innerhalb einer Geografie der Wahrnehmung. Aus der Perspektive von Choreografie, Bildender Kunst, Musik und Workshop-Formaten untersucht „SENSE“ in vier Programmschwerpunkten bis zum Sommer 2022 eine verkörperte Praxis der sinnlichen Wahrnehmung. Die Programmreihe wird sich dabei auch der Frage widmen, wie die traumatische Erfahrung einer Pandemie auf unsere Sinne wirkt und gewirkt haben wird. Der doppeldeutige Titel der Reihe – Sense bedeutet sowohl Sinn wie auch Gefühl – verweist auf die in der westlich-aufklärerischen Wissenstradition gängige Unterscheidung von Denken und Fühlen – beziehungsweise Theorie und Praxis und stellt diese in Frage.

Credits

Präsentiert von Renae Shadler & Collaborators. Gefördert durch das NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR, Förderprogramm Tanz. Die Aktivitäten 2020/21 mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung durch das Marten Bequest Theater Fellowship (Perpetual Trust, Australien).

„SENSE“ ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe des Radialsystems, gefördert durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Unterstützt durch die Radial Stiftung.

Mediepartner: taz. die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, ExBerliner und Ask Helmut.

Unsichtbare Schwellen der Macht: „Moving Across Thresholds“ (MAT) ist ein fortlaufendes Workshopformat der Choreografin Renae Shadler. Der Workshop beschäftigt sich mit der Wahrnehmung von strukturellen, physikalischen oder anderen Grenzen in der alltäglichen Erfahrung und interpretiert sie als Schwellen, die zu einem anderen Denken und Handeln einladen. Der Workshop ist als Experimentierraum konzipiert: Die Teilnehmer*innen erkunden mit vollem Körpereinsatz, wie aus Einschränkungen neue Möglichkeiten sich zu bewegen und zu denken entstehen – und zwar durch eine breitere Beteiligung und Partizipation diverser Körper im Alltag. Das bereits vielfach erprobte Format kombiniert Bewegung, Philosophie und Aktivismus. Mitte April finden über zwei Tage verteilt vier Intensiv-Workshops im Rahmen der Reihe „SENSE“ statt, mit der das Radialsystem Machtverhältnisse innerhalb einer Geografie der Wahrnehmung erkundet.

Die vier Workshops im Radialsystem beschäftigt sich speziell mit dem Thema „Foregrounding the background“, also mit den unsichtbaren Barrieren, die Macht und Privilegien in der Beziehung zwischen Vorder- und Hintergrund markieren: Was hervorgehoben und was in den Hintergrund gedrängt wird, ist nicht zufällig, sondern das Ergebnis historischer Prozesse, dominierender pädagogischer Praktiken sowie systematischer Macht- und Unterdrückungsverhältnisse. Gemeinsam mit internationalen Künstlerinnen und Forscherinnen aus Berlin, São Paulo und Dar es salaam/ Tansania kehrt der Workshop dieses Verhältnis um: Was passiert, wenn der Hintergrund lebendig wird und seine Präsenz spürbar macht? Was wäre, wenn die Landschaft ein Teil von uns wird, so wie wir ein Teil von ihr sind? Was, wenn wir die Peripherie in den Mittelpunkt rücken?

 

Cast

Konzept, Kuration und Moderation
Renae Shadler

Gastmoderator*innen
Isack Abeneko
Giovana de Souza Possignolo

Festivalbegleitung
Judith Förster

Kommunikation
Flupsi

Dokumentation
Stella Horta

Produktion
Sofia Fantuzzi

Biografien

Renae Shadler ist eine in Berlin lebende Choreografin, Performerin und Forscherin. Als Gründerin von „Renae Shadler & Collaborators“, einem projektbasierten Kollektiv, das Performances mit tourenden Künstler*innen und nicht-professionellen Teilnehmenden entwickelt, hat sie Arbeiten für Theater, Bahnhöfe und Stadtplätze geschaffen. Ihre choreografische Praxis „Worlding“ (seit 2015) untersucht, wie wir unsere Umgebung formen und von ihr geformt werden, und manifestiert sich in ihren Kreationen und der „Worlding“-Podcast-Serie.
www.renaeshadler.com

Isack Abeneko ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter von ASEDEVA (Art for Social and Economic Development in Africa), einer in Tansania ansässigen gemeinnützigen Kulturinstitution. Er tritt als Tänzer, Schauspieler und Musiker auf, sowie jenseits der Bühne zunehmend als Choreograf und Songschreiber. Außerdem ist er Kurator des jährlichen „Marafiki Music Festival“ und des „Haba na Haba International Dance Festival“. Sein Interesse ist, mit Performance-Kunst kulturelle Vielfalt und postkoloniale Politik zu vermitteln und zu hinterfragen.
www.asedeva.com

Giovana de Souza Possignolo ist eine brasilianische Doktorandin der Soziologie an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen und Stipendiatin des International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC), Deutschland. In ihrer Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit Grenzen sowie feministischer und antirassistischer Erkenntnistheorie und ‚erfühlt-forscht‘ mit Frauen aus den Randgebieten der Stadt São Paulo (Brasilien) deren gelebte, verkörperte Erfahrungen.

Judith Förster ist Choreografin, Tänzerin, Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin und lebt in Berlin. Ihre Arbeit ist zwischen bildender Kunst und Tanz angesiedelt. Sie verbindet das Performative mit dem Somatischen und arbeitet erfahrungsorientiert mit Körpern und ihren politischen, sinnlichen und visuellen Dimensionen. Die Interaktion von Körper und Material steht im Zentrum ihrer Forschung. In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Choreograf*innen, bildenden Künstler*innen und Tänzer*innen verleiht sie der Interaktion von Körpern und Materialien in ihrer Arbeit kontinuierlich neue Formen.
www.judithfoerster.de

Hinweis zur Verwendung von Cookies
Das Radialsystem speichert keine personenbezogenen Daten der Websitebesucher*innen. Details in unsererDatenschutzerklärung.