THE PRESSING

Performance by Dani Brown in the frame of „SENSE – Geographies of Perception“

Performance / Tanz Festival

Daniel K. B. Schmidt

© Daniel K. B. Schmidt

Tickets Tickets Tickets

Ticket Prices

16 Euro, reduced 12 Euro

 

→ SENSE festival ticket
34 Euro, reduced 30 Euro

The festival ticket is valid for all events on the „SENSE“ weekend: „KISS“ by Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ by Dani Brown and „Æffective Choreography“ by André Uerba; the days and times can be chosen freely.

 

Duration approx. 60 minutes. The performance contains explicit nudity.

Ticket Prices

16 Euro, reduced 12 Euro

Duration approx. 60 minutes. The performance contains explicit nudity.

 

→ SENSE festival ticket
34 Euro, reduced 30 Euro

The festival ticket is valid for all events on the „SENSE“ weekend: „KISS“ by Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ by Dani Brown and „Æffective Choreography“ by André Uerba; the days and times can be chosen freely.

 

Haptic Access Tour and Audiodescription
Sat   30 07 2022   7.30 pm

Please register for the haptic access tour and audio description by telephone under +49 (0)30 288 788 588 or by e-mail to ticket@radialsystem.de.

 

With Artist Talk following the performance.

Ticket Prices

16 Euro, reduced 12 Euro

 

→ SENSE festival ticket
34 Euro, reduced 30 Euro

The festival ticket is valid for all events on the „SENSE“ weekend: „KISS“ by Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ by Dani Brown and „Æffective Choreography“ by André Uerba; the days and times can be chosen freely.

 

Duration approx. 60 minutes. The performance contains explicit nudity.

For her new solo performance “The Pressing”, premiering 29 July at this year’s edition of Radialsystem’s SENSE series, Dani Brown re-appropriates the word ‘CUNT’ from its realm of vulgarity. In a world of speculation, belief and queer narrative, she gives herself, her body, soul, intellect, her dance and choreographic practice over to what she terms a ‘CUNT’ entity. Brown starts with the physical qualities of the female sexual organ, the neural connections between brain, clitoris and carnal knowledge, to seek out the expressive possibilities of this anatomically and socially complex organ – what would a vulva-oriented/cunt-centric performance look, feel and sound like?

She is accompanied by the immersive music of artist and DJ Justin F. Kennedy and their queer ode to ‘CUNT’ with laid tracks, historic samples and angelic vocals. Belgian designer Jan Fack’s stage setting features huge floral arrangements and live moths curated by Project Cultivation, and is inspired by the sensually luscious and equally complex Vanitas paintings of the 16th and 17th centuries.

Further information can be found here www.danibrown.org

Cast

Artistic Direction and Performance
Dani Brown

Sound Design and Performance
Justin F. Kennedy

Dramaturgy
Maja Zimmerman

Light Design and Technical Direction
Catalina Fernández

Flower Arrangement
Project Cultivation – Kieran Behan & Sina Kempe

Stage Design
Jan Fack

Production
Marcela Donato

Photos and Video
Daniel K. B. Schmidt

PR and Marketing
Lola and The Bean

Biographien

Dani Brown was born and raised in Rochester, NY. She studied dance at Virginia Commonwealth University, was part of various performance projects and did a lot of, shall we say, 'cultural exchanges' before she finished her BDa, specialization Dance Maker at the ArtEZ University of the Arts in Arnhem, NL (former European Dance Development Centre). After living in Hamburg and producing work in co-production with Kampnagel for five years, she made Berlin her home in 2012 where she works as a choreographer, performer, researcher and teacher. Her works and collaborations have been presented internationally in Europe, Africa and Asia.

Programme

Sat 30 07 2022: Artist Talk
Following the performance on Saturday, there will be a talk with the artist, moderated by Maja Zimmerman.

Language

English

→ the complete programme of SENSE festival

Employing the perspectives of choreography, visual arts, music and workshop formats, Radialsystem investigates with the programme series "SENSE" an embodied practice of sensory perception. At the festival edition in July 2022, three Berlin choreographers will celebrate the premiere of their new works: Kasia Wolinska with „KISS“, Dani Brown with „THE PRESSING“ and André Uerba with „Æffective Choreography“.

Credits

„THE PRESSING“ is a production by Dani Brown in co-production with Radialsystem, supported by the Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Radial Foundation. With the kind support of Arsenic Lausanne, ImpulsTanz, O'espaco do Tempo, Tanz Haus Zürich, New Fears Gallery for Dance and Performance, Trauma Bar und Kino and Pharos Arts Foundation.

The audio description is offered in cooperation with Gravity Berlin, supported by Diehl+Ritter / Tanzpakt Reconnect, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

Media partners: Tanzraum Berlin, taz. die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, ExBerliner and Rausgegangen Berlin.

For her new solo performance “The Pressing”, premiering 29 July at this year’s edition of Radialsystem’s SENSE series, Dani Brown re-appropriates the word ‘CUNT’ from its realm of vulgarity. In a world of speculation, belief and queer narrative, she gives herself, her body, soul, intellect, her dance and choreographic practice over to what she terms a ‘CUNT’ entity. Brown starts with the physical qualities of the female sexual organ, the neural connections between brain, clitoris and carnal knowledge, to seek out the expressive possibilities of this anatomically and socially complex organ – what would a vulva-oriented/cunt-centric performance look, feel and sound like?

She is accompanied by the immersive music of artist and DJ Justin F. Kennedy and their queer ode to ‘CUNT’ with laid tracks, historic samples and angelic vocals. Belgian designer Jan Fack’s stage setting features huge floral arrangements and live moths curated by Project Cultivation, and is inspired by the sensually luscious and equally complex Vanitas paintings of the 16th and 17th centuries.

Further information can be found here www.danibrown.org

Cast

Artistic Direction and Performance
Dani Brown

Sound Design and Performance
Justin F. Kennedy

Dramaturgy
Maja Zimmerman

Light Design and Technical Direction
Catalina Fernández

Flower Arrangement
Project Cultivation – Kieran Behan & Sina Kempe

Stage Design
Jan Fack

Production
Marcela Donato

Photos and Video
Daniel K. B. Schmidt

PR and Marketing
Lola and The Bean

Biographies

Dani Brown was born and raised in Rochester, NY. She studied dance at Virginia Commonwealth University, was part of various performance projects and did a lot of, shall we say, 'cultural exchanges' before she finished her BDa, specialization Dance Maker at the ArtEZ University of the Arts in Arnhem, NL (former European Dance Development Centre). After living in Hamburg and producing work in co-production with Kampnagel for five years, she made Berlin her home in 2012 where she works as a choreographer, performer, researcher and teacher. Her works and collaborations have been presented internationally in Europe, Africa and Asia.

Related

Use of Cookies
Radialsystem does not store any personal data of website visitors. Details in ourprivacy policy.

THE PRESSING

Performance von Dani Brown im Rahmen von „SENSE – Geografien der Wahrnehmung“

Performance / Tanz Festival Audiodeskription

Daniel K. B. Schmidt

© Daniel K. B. Schmidt

Tickets Tickets Tickets

Ticketpreise

16 Euro, ermäßigt 12 Euro

 

→ SENSE Festivalticket
34 Euro, ermäßigt 30 Euro

Das Festivalticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen am „SENSE“-Wochenende: „KISS“ von Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ von Dani Brown und „Æffective Choreography“ von André Uerba; die Tage und Uhrzeiten sind frei wählbar.

 

Dauer ca. 60 Minuten. Die Performance enthält explizite Nacktheit.

Ticketpreise

16 Euro, ermäßigt 12 Euro

Dauer ca. 60 Minuten. Die Performance enthält explizite Nacktheit.

 

→ SENSE Festivalticket
34 Euro, ermäßigt 30 Euro

Das Festivalticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen am „SENSE“-Wochenende: „KISS“ von Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ von Dani Brown und „Æffective Choreography“ von André Uerba; die Tage und Uhrzeiten sind frei wählbar.

 

Tastführung und Audiodeskription
Sa   30 07 2022   19.30 Uhr

Wir bitten um Anmeldung zur Tastführung und Audiodeskription telefonisch unter +49 (0)30 288 788 588 oder per E-Mail an ticket@radialsystem.de.

 

Mit Artist Talk im Anschsluss an die Vorstellung.

Ticketpreise

16 Euro, ermäßigt 12 Euro

 

→ SENSE Festivalticket
34 Euro, ermäßigt 30 Euro

Das Festivalticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen am „SENSE“-Wochenende: „KISS“ von Kasia Wolinska, „THE PRESSING“ von Dani Brown und „Æffective Choreography“ von André Uerba; die Tage und Uhrzeiten sind frei wählbar.

 

Dauer ca. 60 Minuten. Die Performance enthält explizite Nacktheit.

Für ihre neue Solo-Performance „The Pressing“, die am 29. Juli bei der Festivalausgabe der Reihe „SENSE“ im Radialsystem Premiere feiert, entreißt die Performerin und Choreografin Dani Brown das Wort ‚CUNT‘ (dt. Fotze) dem Bereich der Vulgarität: In einer Welt der Spekulation, des Glaubens und der queeren Erzählung gibt sie sich selbst, ihren Körper, ihre Seele, ihren Intellekt und ihre choreografische Praxis einer sogenannten ‚CUNT‘-heit hin. Ausgehend von den physischen Qualitäten des weiblichen Sexualorgans sucht Brown nach Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten dieses anatomisch und sozial komplexen Organs – wie würde sich eine vulvaorientierte / fotzenzentrierte Performance anfühlen, anhören und wie aussehen?

Begleitet wird sie dabei von der eindringlichen Musik des Künstlers und DJs Justin F. Kennedy und seiner queeren Ode an die ‚CUNT‘ mit entspannten Tracks, historischen Samples und engelsgleicher Stimme. Das vom belgischen Designer Jan Fack entworfene Bühnenbild mit riesigen Blumenarrangements, kuratiert von Project Cultivation, ist inspiriert von den sinnlich üppigen und ebenso komplexen Vanitas-Gemälden des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts.

Mehr Infos unter www.danibrown.org

Cast

Künstlerische Leitung und Performance
Dani Brown

Sound Design und Performance
Justin F. Kennedy

Dramaturgie
Maja Zimmerman

Lichtdesign und Technische Leitung
Catalina Fernández

Blumenarrangement
Project Cultivation – Kieran Behan & Sina Kempe

Bühnenbild
Jan Fack

Produktion
Marcela Donato

Foto und Video
Daniel K. B. Schmidt

PR und Marketing
Lola and The Bean

Biographien

Dani Brown ist in Rochester, New York (USA), geboren und aufgewachsen. Sie studierte in den USA Tanz, war an verschiedenen Performance-Projekten beteiligte und betrieb regen ‚Kulturaustasuch‘, bevor sie am ArtEZ, College of Art, in Arnheim in den Niederlanden ihren Bachelor in Tanz mit der Spezialisierung Choreografie erlangte. Während ihrer Zeit in Hamburg erarbeitete sie Ko-Produktionen mit Kampnagel Hamburg. Heute lebt sie in Berlin und arbeitet international als Choreografin, Performerin, Forscherin und Lehrerin. Ihre Arbeiten und Kollaborationen werden weltweit gezeigt.

Programm

Sa 30 07 2022: Artist Talk
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung am Samstag findet ein Gespräch mit der Künstlerin statt, moderiert von Maja Zimmerman.

Sprache

Englisch

→ Das komplette Programm des SENSE-Festivals

Aus der Perspektive von Choreografie, Bildender Kunst, Musik und Workshop-Formaten untersucht die Programmreihe „SENSE“ im Radialsystem eine verkörperte Praxis der sinnlichen Wahrnehmung. Bei der Festivalausgabe im Juli 2022 feiern drei Berliner Choreograf*innen die Premiere ihrer neuen Arbeiten: Kasia Wolinska mit „KISS“, Dani Brown mit „THE PRESSING“ und André Uerba mit „Æffective Choreography“.

Credits

„THE PRESSING“ ist eine Produktion von Dani Brown in Koproduktion mit Radialsystem, gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste mit Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien sowie der Radial Stiftung. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Arsenic Lausanne, ImpulsTanz, O'espaco do Tempo, Tanz Haus Zürich, New Fears Gallery for Dance and Performance, Trauma Bar und Kino und Pharos Arts Foundation.

Die Audiodeskription wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Gravity Berlin angeboten, unterstützt durch Diehl+Ritter / Tanzpakt Reconnect, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

Medienpartner: rbb Kultur, Tanzraum Berlin, taz. die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, ExBerliner und Rausgegangen Berlin.

Für ihre neue Solo-Performance „The Pressing“, die am 29. Juli bei der Festivalausgabe der Reihe „SENSE“ im Radialsystem Premiere feiert, entreißt die Performerin und Choreografin Dani Brown das Wort ‚CUNT‘ (dt. Fotze) dem Bereich der Vulgarität: In einer Welt der Spekulation, des Glaubens und der queeren Erzählung gibt sie sich selbst, ihren Körper, ihre Seele, ihren Intellekt und ihre choreografische Praxis einer sogenannten ‚CUNT‘-heit hin. Ausgehend von den physischen Qualitäten des weiblichen Sexualorgans sucht Brown nach Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten dieses anatomisch und sozial komplexen Organs – wie würde sich eine vulvaorientierte / fotzenzentrierte Performance anfühlen, anhören und wie aussehen?

Begleitet wird sie dabei von der eindringlichen Musik des Künstlers und DJs Justin F. Kennedy und seiner queeren Ode an die ‚CUNT‘ mit entspannten Tracks, historischen Samples und engelsgleicher Stimme. Das vom belgischen Designer Jan Fack entworfene Bühnenbild mit riesigen Blumenarrangements, kuratiert von Project Cultivation, ist inspiriert von den sinnlich üppigen und ebenso komplexen Vanitas-Gemälden des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts.

Mehr Infos unter www.danibrown.org

Cast

Künstlerische Leitung und Performance
Dani Brown

Sound Design und Performance
Justin F. Kennedy

Dramaturgie
Maja Zimmerman

Lichtdesign und Technische Leitung
Catalina Fernández

Blumenarrangement
Project Cultivation – Kieran Behan & Sina Kempe

Bühnenbild
Jan Fack

Produktion
Marcela Donato

Foto und Video
Daniel K. B. Schmidt

PR und Marketing
Lola and The Bean

Biografien

Dani Brown ist in Rochester, New York (USA), geboren und aufgewachsen. Sie studierte in den USA Tanz, war an verschiedenen Performance-Projekten beteiligte und betrieb regen ‚Kulturaustasuch‘, bevor sie am ArtEZ, College of Art, in Arnheim in den Niederlanden ihren Bachelor in Tanz mit der Spezialisierung Choreografie erlangte. Während ihrer Zeit in Hamburg erarbeitete sie Ko-Produktionen mit Kampnagel Hamburg. Heute lebt sie in Berlin und arbeitet international als Choreografin, Performerin, Forscherin und Lehrerin. Ihre Arbeiten und Kollaborationen werden weltweit gezeigt.

Hinweis zur Verwendung von Cookies
Das Radialsystem speichert keine personenbezogenen Daten der Websitebesucher*innen. Details in unsererDatenschutzerklärung.