deen
calendar
Sun 09 08
from 5 pm

Free admission. Registration required.

Registration for the individual time-slots at register@radialsystem.de // The Soundinstallation runs every day from 5 - 10.15 p.m. 2 persons are admitted for every 20 minutes. You are welcome to name a desired time, which we will give priority to.

Aral Sea Stories

Installation by Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
The sound of climate change... In his installation "Aral Sea Stories", sound artist and field recordist Peter Cusack tells of one of the most significant man-made environmental catastrophes of the 20th century: 60 years ago the world's fourth largest lake, the Aral Sea currently covers only about 10% of its original area. During several trips to the Aral Sea in the past seven years, Cusack documented the traces that the disappearance of the lake has left in the landscape as well as its slow but hopeful restoration. He will present the collected material in early August at radialsystem as a combination of sound recordings, photographs and stories: Jackals howling at the moon, village life during a thunderstorm of rain signifying the sea's restoration, sounds of ice closely sonnected to changes in the climate, and wind rattling through the ship's graveyard.

By listening and looking closely, Cusack conveys an impressive picture of this still extraordinary place: A huge body of water in a vast open, mostly flat, landscape. There are no trees for thousands of kilometers and strong winds usually blow. The weather is extreme, +50 in summer, -25 degrees in winter. Kazakhstan has been successful in restoring a part of the Aral Sea in its territory. Rising water levels and a reborn fishing industry are bringing obvious improvements to the local ecology and economy. Living and working at Aral Sea is harsh but the retuning water has brought significant hope to the region - and it is a much needed positive example in the climate change debate and in re-thinking our relationship to the environment.

In English.

The Soundinstallation runs every day from 5 - 10.15 p.m. 2 persons are admitted for every 20 minutes.

We are getting closer!

Over four long summer weekends, we will once again open radialsystem to the public and cordially invite you to the concerts, installations, and performances by and with the Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, Hanno Leichtmann, Peter Cusack, Sandhya Daemgen, Deva Schubert, Guerilla Architects and Alicia Agustín, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Tilman O'Donnell and Mikkel Ploug, Juan Dominguez and Wojtek Blecharz.
The different rooms of the building, the Spree Terrace, and the covered Deck are all to be discovered in a different way than before. Over the past few weeks, we have come to learn how important and yet fragile the shared experience of live performances is. In order to ensure that everyone feels safe and at ease at our relaunch, we want to allow for plenty of space and time for these encounters to unfold onsite. Therefore, together with the participating artists and ensembles, we have developed artistic formats that foster unusual aesthetic experiences and through which radialsystem can also be encountered in a new way.

Peter Cusack is a field recordist, sound artist and musician with a long interest in the sound environment. In 1998 he initiated the “Favourite Sounds Project” to discover how people interact with the soundscapes of the places where they live. Starting in London it has travelled to other world cities including Beijing, Prague, Manchester, Hull and Berlin. His project ‘Sounds from Dangerous Places’ investigates the soundscapes of sites of major environmental damage such as the Caspian oil fields, the Chernobyl exclusion zone and the Aral Sea, Central Asia, and asks the question, “What can be learned about dangerous places by listening to their sounds?”

‌‌

  • Installation Peter Cusack

Programme

The Soundinstallation runs every day from 5 - 10.15 p.m. 2 persons are admitted for every 20 minutes. Registration for the individual time-slots is possible at register@radialsystem.de. You are welcome to name a desired time, which we will give priority to.

Credits

Media partner "we are getting closer": tipBerlin, VAN, Exberliner, Ask Helmut

Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack

Presented by

Free admission. Registration required.

Registration for the individual time-slots at register@radialsystem.de // The Soundinstallation runs every day from 5 - 10.15 p.m. 2 persons are admitted for every 20 minutes. You are welcome to name a desired time, which we will give priority to.

Further dates

Also of interest

1 km² Berlin – Akt II: A place to be

Fri02 10

Radical Sounds Latin America

Sat03 10

Covered Culture

Sat24 10

deen
kalender
So 09 08
ab 17 Uhr

Eintritt frei. Anmeldung erforderlich.

Anmeldung zu den einzelnen Zeit-Slots unter register@radialsystem.de // Die Klanginstallation läuft an jedem Tag zwischen 17 – 22.15 Uhr. Für je 20 Minuten werden jeweils 2 Personen eingelassen. Gerne können Sie eine gewünschte Uhrzeit nennen, die wir prioritär berücksichtigen werden.

Aral Sea Stories

Installation von Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Der Klang des Klimawandels… In seiner Installation „Aral Sea Stories“ erzählt der Klangkünstler und Field Recordist Peter Cusack von einer der größten, von Menschen verursachten Umweltkatastrophe des 20 Jahrhunderts: Noch vor 60 Jahren der viertgrößte See der Welt, umfasst der Aralsee aktuell nur noch etwa 10% seiner ursprünglichen Fläche. Während mehrerer Reisen zum Aralsee in den vergangenen sieben Jahren dokumentierte Cusack die Spuren, die das Verschwinden des Sees in der Landschaft hinterlassen hat sowie seine langsame, aber hoffnungsbringende Wiederherstellung. Das gesammelte Material präsentiert er Anfang August im radialsystem als eine Kombination aus Tonaufnahmen, Fotografien und Geschichten: Schakale, die den Mond anheulen, das Dorfleben während eines Gewitterregens, der zur Bewässerung des Sees beiträgt, die Geräusche von Eis im Winter, die eng mit den Klimaveränderungen verbunden sind, und der Wind, der durch die vielen Schiffsfriedhöfe rattert.

Durch genaues Hinhören und Hinsehen, gelingt es Cusack, ein eindrucksvolles Bild von diesem nach wie vor außergewöhnlichen Ort zu vermitteln: Ein riesiges Wasservolumen in einer weiten offenen, meist flachen Landschaft, tausende von Kilometern lang keine Bäume, starke Winde, extremes Wetter mit -25 Grad im Winter und bis +50 Grad im Sommer. In Kasachstan gelang es in den letzten Jahren, die Wasserstände des Aralsees wieder zu steigern und so die Fischereiindustrie wiederzubeleben, was deutliche ökologische und ökonomische Verbesserungen vor Ort bewirkt hat. Das Leben und Arbeiten am Aralsee ist hart, aber das zurückfließende Wasser hat der Region große Hoffnung gebracht – und bietet ein dringend benötigtes positives Beispiel in der Debatte über den Klimawandel und für ein Überdenken unserer Beziehung zur Umwelt.

In englischer Sprache.

Die Klanginstallation läuft an jedem Tag zwischen 17 – 22.15 Uhr. Für je 20 Minuten werden jeweils zwei Personen eingelassen.

We are getting closer!

An vier langen Sommerwochenenden öffnen wir im August das radialsystem erneut für das Publikum und laden herzlich ein zu Konzerten, Installationen und Performances von und mit dem Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, Hanno Leichtmann, Peter Cusack, Sandhya Daemgen, Deva Schubert, Guerilla Architects und Alicia Agustín, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Tilman O’Donnell und Mikkel Ploug, Juan Dominguez und Wojtek Blecharz.

Dabei werden die unterschiedlichen Räume des Hauses, die Spreeterrasse und das überdachte Deck in anderer Weise zu entdecken sein als bisher. Wie wichtig und zugleich fragil das gemeinsame Live-Erlebnis ist, haben wir in den letzten Wochen erfahren müssen. Damit sich bei unserem Neustart alle wohl und sicher fühlen können, wollen wir für die Begegnungen vor Ort viel Raum und Zeit lassen. Gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen und Ensembles haben wir daher künstlerische Formate entwickelt, die zu ungewöhnlichen ästhetischen Erfahrungen einladen und bei denen das radialsystem gleichzeitig neu erlebt werden kann.

Der Klangkünstler, Musiker, Sound Journalist und Field Recordist Peter Cusack beschäftigt sich mit den Klängen seiner Umgebung und nimmt diese vor Ort auf. Im Jahr 1998 initiierte er das "Favourite Sounds Project", um herauszufinden, wie Menschen mit den Klanglandschaften der Orte, an denen sie leben, interagieren. Ausgehend von London reiste das Projekt in andere Weltstädte wie Peking, Prag, Manchester, Hull und Berlin. Sein Projekt "Sounds from Dangerous Places" untersucht die Klanglandschaften von Orten mit großen Umweltschäden wie den kaspischen Ölfeldern, der Sperrzone von Tschernobyl und dem Aralsee in Zentralasien und stellt die Frage: "Was kann man über gefährliche Orte lernen, wenn man ihren Geräuschen lauscht?“.

‌‌

  • Installation Peter Cusack

Programm

Die Klanginstallation läuft an jedem Tag zwischen 17 – 22.15 Uhr. Für je 20 Minuten werden jeweils 2 Personen eingelassen. Eine Anmeldung zu den einzelnen Zeit-Slots ist unter register@radialsystem.de möglich. Gerne können Sie eine gewünschte Uhrzeit nennen, die wir prioritär berücksichtigen werden.

Credits

Medienpartner "we are getting closer": tipBerlin, VAN, Exberliner, Ask Helmut

Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack
Aral Sea Stories
Aral Sea Stories © Peter Cusack

Präsentiert von

Eintritt frei. Anmeldung erforderlich.

Anmeldung zu den einzelnen Zeit-Slots unter register@radialsystem.de // Die Klanginstallation läuft an jedem Tag zwischen 17 – 22.15 Uhr. Für je 20 Minuten werden jeweils 2 Personen eingelassen. Gerne können Sie eine gewünschte Uhrzeit nennen, die wir prioritär berücksichtigen werden.

Weitere Termine