Profile
The House
    



Artistic Programme

Since it was founded in September 2006, RADIALSYSTEM V has gained a reputation as an open space for the arts far beyond the borders of Berlin and is now firmly established in a national and international network of leading arts centres. In creative collaborations with artists, ensembles and other partners, RADIALSYSTEM V develops innovative, cross-genre performance formats and puts them to the test in practice. Diverse art forms are brought into contact, creating mutual inspiration. The main areas of focus are the fields of contemporary dance and Early music.

Productions such as the choreographic concert "4 Elemente – 4 Jahreszeiten" by the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin with the choreographer and dancer Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola demonstrate the search for new performance forms and formats beyond the conventions of concert, dance and theatre realisation. The "Nachtmusik" series, for instance, allows listeners to discover a new dimension to the concert experience while relaxing on yoga mats during the performance. Similarly, the "Radial Nights", in which the audience can freely wander from one concert room to another, open up new perspectives on music and musicians. In the "Barock Lounge", featuring the Elbipolis Barockorchester Hamburg and a changing line-up of DJs, Early music meets club culture; and the charmingly intimate "DaschSalon" hosted by soprano Annette Dasch is produced at the venue for the TV broadcasters 3sat and ZDFkultur.

Further information on the programme series at RADIALSYSTEM V can be found here.

The artistic directors and managers of RADIALSYSTEM V, Folkert Uhde and Jochen Sandig, have been awarded several prizes for their successful work, commitment, and innovative ideas and forms of promoting culture.

The venue's important role in local and global artistic networks is proven by its inclusion in various renowned national and international festivals. RADIALSYSTEM V is the main venue for "Ultraschall – Das Festival für neue Musik" and also the "Shared Sounds" festival; it organizes festivals such as "Schweizgenössisch" and "Hybrid Arts Fest – Australia", and it hosts festivals including "MaerzMusik", "Tanz im August - Internationales Tanzfest Berlin", "France en Scène", "Tenso Days" and "Tanz made in Berlin".


© Photo: Sebastian Bolesch


Artists

The artistic concept of the venue is reflected in the diversity and quality of its performance programme. The programmatic inauguration performance "Dialoge 06 - Radiale Systeme" by Sasha Waltz in collaboration with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Vocalconsort Berlin, and musikFabrik has since been followed by choreographies by Helena Waldmann, Luc Dunberry, Yasmeen Godder, William Forsythe, Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Mathilde Monnier, Anna Huber, Rikki von Falken, Hanna Hegenscheidt, Nasser Martin-Gousset and many others.

The musical programme includes artists such as Annette Dasch, Hille Perl, Christine Schäfer, Adam Green, Michael Wollny, Midori Seiler, Christian Rieger, Wir sind Helden, Joanna Dudley, Christian Zehnder, Andreas Scholl, Marc Sinan, Kim Kashkashian, Mark Andre, Etta Scollo, Isabelle Faust, Adriana Calcanhotto, Alban Gerhardt and many other musicians.

RADIALSYSTEM V regularly works with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor, Elbipolis Barockorchester Hamburg, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Scharoun Ensemble, Wiener Taschenoper, Nico and the Navigators, Zentrale Intelligenz Agentur, American Academy in Berlin, ZDFkultur and 3sat.

A comprehensive list of the artists and ensembles can be found here.


© Photo: Sebastian Bolesch

Ensembles-in-residence

Since its inauguration in September 2006, RADIALSYSTEM V has strived to combine artistic collaboration with the goal to develop and produce new performance formats with its resident ensembles, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and Vocalconsort Berlin. In a process of interaction and exchange these four independent ensembles deliver part of the artistic programme RADIALSYSTEM V. Moreover, they use various rooms for rehearsal and productions and thus form part of the 'Radial Network'. None of the Ensembles-in-residence is engaged at the venue on a full-time basis.

In recent years, many internationally acclaimed productions have been developed as collaborations between the resident ensembles: Among the works "made in Radialsystem" are Sasha Waltz's operatic choreography "Medea" (2007), as well as her productions "Passion" (2010), "Continu" (2010), "Matsukaze" (2011) in addition to diverse dialogue projects. Other projects include "4 Elemente – 4 Jahreszeiten" (2007) a choreographic concert featuring dancer-choreographer Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, and many other outstanding productions. Of particular note is Sasha Waltz's "Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum" – a musical-choreographic installation celebrating the artistic inauguration in March 2009 of the Neue Museum on Berlin's 'Museumsinsel', and featuring Sasha Waltz & Guests, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and Vocalconsort Berlin.

Detailed information on our resident ensembles can be found here.


Artists-in-residence

As Artists-in-residence, diverse artists who have a special connection to the venue initiate and produce their projects at RADIALSYSTEM V. The dancer and choreographer Antony Hamilton and the artist and curator Lara Thoms worked as artists-in-residence within the framework of "Hybrid Arts Fest – Australia" in October 2009 and the flautist and composer Jeremias Schwarzer has been resident at RADIALSYSTEM V since 2009.

Profil
Das Haus
    



Künstlerisches Programm

Seit seiner Gründung im September 2006 hat sich das RADIALSYSTEM V als offener Raum für die Künste weit über die Grenzen Berlins hinaus einen Namen gemacht und ist eingebettet in ein nationales und internationales künstlerisches Netzwerk. Das RADIALSYSTEM V entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern, Ensembles und weiteren Partnern genreübergreifende, innovative künstlerische Formate und erprobt diese in der Praxis. Unterschiedliche Kunstformen treten miteinander in Verbindung und inspirieren sich gegenseitig, Schwerpunkte sind die Bereiche Zeitgenössischer Tanz und Alte Musik.

Produktionen wie das choreographische Konzert "4 Elemente – 4 Jahreszeiten" von der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin mit dem Choreographen und Tänzer Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola zeigen die Suche nach neuen künstlerischen Darstellungsformen und Formaten jenseits des traditionellen Konzert-, Tanz- und Theaterbetriebs. Auch die Reihe "Nachtmusik" lässt die Zuhörer, die während der Konzerte entspannt auf Yogamatten liegen, eine andere Konzertdimension entdecken. Ebenso eröffnen die "Radialen Nächte", in denen das Publikum von einem Konzertraum zum nächsten wandelt, neue Perspektiven auf Musik und Musiker. In der "Barock Lounge" mit dem Elbipolis Barockorchester Hamburg und wechselnden DJs trifft Alte Musik auf Clubkultur und der charmant-familiäre "DaschSalon" der Sopranistin Annette Dasch wird auch als TV-Format für 3sat und ZDFkultur produziert.

Weitere Informationen zu den Programmreihen des RADIALSYSTEM V finden Sie hier

Für ihre erfolgreiche Arbeit, ihr Engagement und ihre innovativen Ideen und Formen der Kulturvermittlung wurden Folkert Uhde und Jochen Sandig, die Künstlerischen Leiter und Geschäftsführer des RADIALSYSTEM V, mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Die nationale und internationale Vernetzung des Hauses zeigt sich auch an der Einbindung in verschiedene renommierte Festivals. Das RADIALSYSTEM V ist Hauptveranstaltungsort für "Ultraschall – Das Festival für neue Musik" und "Shared Sounds", Veranstalter der Festivals "Schweizgenössisch" und "Hybrid Arts Fest – Australia", sowie Spielort für die Festivals "MaerzMusik", "Tanz im August - Internationales Tanzfest Berlin", "France en Scène", "Tenso Days" und "Tanz made in Berlin".


© Foto: Sebastian Bolesch


Künstler

Die künstlerische Idee des Hauses spiegelt sich in der Vielfältigkeit und Qualität der Programme wider. An die programmatische Eröffnungsinszenierung "Dialoge 06 - Radiale Systeme" von Sasha Waltz in Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Vocalconsort Berlin und musikFabrik, schlossen sich Choreographien von Helena Waldmann, Luc Dunberry, Yasmeen Godder, William Forsythe, Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Mathilde Monnier, Anna Huber, Rikki von Falken, Hanna Hegenscheidt, Nasser Martin-Gousset und vielen anderen an.

Musikalisch prägten Annette Dasch, Hille Perl, Christine Schäfer, Adam Green, Michael Wollny, Midori Seiler, Christian Rieger, Wir sind Helden, Joanna Dudley, Christian Zehnder, Andreas Scholl, Marc Sinan, Kim Kashkashian, Mark Andre, Etta Scollo, Isabelle Faust, Adriana Calcanhotto, Alban Gerhardt und viele weitere Musiker das Programm.

Regelmäßig arbeitet das RADIALSYSTEM V auch mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor, Elbipolis Barockorchester Hamburg, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Scharoun Ensemble, Wiener Taschenoper, Nico and the Navigators, Zentrale Intelligenz Agentur, American Academy in Berlin, ZDFkultur und 3sat zusammen.

Eine ausführliche Liste der Künstler und Ensembles finden Sie hier


© Foto: Sebastian Bolesch


Hausensembles

Bereits seit der Eröffnung des Hauses im September 2006 verbindet das RADIALSYSTEM V eine intensive künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ziel der Entwicklung und Produktion neuer künstlerischer Formate mit seinen Hausensembles Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Vocalconsort Berlin. In einem Prozess des Austausches bestreiten die vier unabhängigen Ensembles einen Teil des künstlerischen Programms, proben und produzieren in den Räumlichkeiten des Hauses und sind somit Teil des radialen Netzwerkes. Keines der Hausensembles ist fest am Haus beschäftigt.

Mehrere international gefeierte Produktionen entstanden in den letzten Jahren in Zusammenarbeit der Hausensembles - "Made in Radialystem" sind unter anderem Sasha Waltz' Opernchoreographie "Medea" (2007), ihre Produktionen "Passion" (2010), "Continu" (2010), "Matsukaze" (2011) sowie verschiedene Dialoge-Projekte. Ebenso das choreographische Konzert "4 Elemente – 4 Jahreszeiten" (2007) mit dem Tänzerchoreographen Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola und der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, sowie weitere herausragende Produktionen. Besonders hervorzuheben ist Sasha Waltz' "Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum" – eine musikalisch-choreographische Installation, mit der im März 2009 unter Mitwirkung der Hausensembles Sasha Waltz & Guests, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Vocalconsort Berlin das Neue Museum auf der Berliner Museumsinsel seine künstlerische Inauguration feierte.

Ausführliche Informationen zu unseren Hausensembles finden Sie hier

Artists-in-residence

Als Artists-in-residence initiieren und produzieren verschiedene Künstler, die dem Haus auf besondere Weise verbunden sind, ihre Projekte im RADIALSYSTEM V. Bisher arbeiteten im Rahmen des "Hybrid Arts Fest – Australia" im Oktober 2009 der Tänzer und Choreograph Antony Hamilton und die Künstlerin und Kuratorin Lara Thoms sowie – ebenfalls seit 2009 – der Blockflötist und Komponist Jeremias Schwarzer als Artists-in-residence im RADIALSYSTEM V.


nach oben